Final countdown …

cows
These guys turned up in the field at the bottom of our garden the other day.

This time next week we’ll already be enjoying our wedding day. There is still so much to do and sort out, especially with us going off on honeymoon the very next day, and very little time in which to do it. We have another busy few days ahead, but boy, are we going to make the most ofย our holiday.

I’ve managed to do a lot of my own work this week, adding nicely to the word counts in the sidebar. I’ve also done a fair bit of reading work and some research. The washing basket has been hammered and we’ve made some inroads into the shopping we need to buy for both our holiday and to leave behind for my sister, who’s pet/house-sitting for us.

When these cows appeared in the field at the bottom of our garden on Wednesday, the distraction didn’t help a great deal. But it was lovely to see them run around the field with gay abandon. (Can we still say that now?) They’ve had a jolly good wander too, exploring every inch of the field, the woods, the brook, the grassed bridge over the brook. I’ve not seen them yet today, but keep looking – so there’s more distraction. ๐Ÿ™‚

Today I have a hair appointment at 4:30pm, so a short day for me. I would have done the shopping while I was over there too, but we decided to go last night instead. That gives us the rest of this evening free.

It’s my mom’s birthday tomorrow, so we’re going to see my parents. We won’t be able to visit for 3 weeks, so we would have gone anyway. We also want to see the poet’s parents this weekend too. As we’re getting married in Scotland, none of the parents will be coming. So we want to see them all this weekend instead.

Incidentally, those who know the details and who want to come are very welcome. We’re just not putting anything special on. We didn’t want anyone to feel obliged to come, especially as it’s the third time my friends and family will have had to suffer the ordeal. But, likewise, if anyone fancies a short break, and can get there, we’re not discouraging them.

When we get back from Birmingham we may have another visit to Meadowhall to do more last minute holiday shopping, then on Sunday I think we’re hoping to get out for another walk. We’re going to be doing a lot of walking in Scotland and want to ensure a reasonable level of fitness at least.

Son #2 moves into his new house today, so we want to try and squeeze in a visit over there in the next few days. It’s all go, isn’t it?

I’m waiting for our postal ballot papers for the general election. My sister’s arrived today, but we’ve not heard anything since we registered at the new address. I’ll have to chase them today if we don’t get anything in the post. I’d be mortified if I couldn’t vote in a general election. We both would.

I also have more reading/writing/research work to do today and I also want to do a backup as the computer has crashed twice this week and each time it does I have kittens.

Have a great weekend and enjoy the cows. ๐Ÿ™‚

14 thoughts on “Final countdown …

  1. Exciting stuff ๐Ÿ™‚ I’d missed that you were getting married up north – what made you choose Scotland? (Good choice. Love the place, and went to a wonderful wedding there… ooh, nearly 15 years ago now).
    I wish you both all the very best – and pah, so what if it’s the third time? True friends will be happy for you, and you know what they say: Third Time Lucky ๐Ÿ™‚ x

    Like

  2. Have a wonderful wedding and so what if it’s #3? We’re both planning attempt #2 either in North Devon or in North Wales, depends which suits best and is affordable, and which can be done with the least fuss. It was going to be this year, but health things on both our parts mean it’s going to be next summer now. All the very best for your big day, and I hope you have a wonderful and memorable (for all the right reasons) honeymoon. I totally understand your worries about not being able to vote, even though all the candidates this time are jokers. ‘Ordinary’ people went through a lot to win the right to vote and so not voting is not an option, in my opinion. xxx

    Like

Comments are closed.