Busy weekend

scholes
Stile near Scholes (PIcture: Diane Parkin)

We had another very busy weekend, which included a walk in the end. But as I’ve been quite busy this morning too, I’ve not been able to upload the pictures. So here’s one I made earlier from a walk I did on my own but which we’ll be doing together as soon as we can.

The weekend was such a blur, in fact, I’m struggling to remember what we did … we didn’t do anything Friday evening because we knew we’d have a busy day Saturday and I’d already been driven half mad by incompetent bureaucrats.

Saturday we were up early and off to Birmingham because it was my mom’s birthday. We managed to sort a few jobs out for my dad while we were there and he even got to have five minutes when he took the dog for a walk to the letterbox … or the dog took him.

On the way home we got to the gig buddy’s shop by bang on 4pm so she could do another dress fitting. The good news is, the inch-and-a-half she had to take in the week before she had to let out again, because I’d already lost some weight since last time. And I’m under strict instructions not to lose any more … erm …

On Sunday, I had lost some more weight, and I’d lost some more inches. So somebody is going to be displeased with me when she comes for a “final” fitting tomorrow evening. 😀

Sunday morning we went over to PC World in Barnsley to get a new notebook to take on holiday with us. And we found one we liked that’s actually a tablet/switch, which is perfect for portability. There won’t be any crap on there, just stuff we both would like to access, if we can, while we’re away. We also bought a new memory stick for backups and a spare memory card for the camera, as we won’t be able to edit or store the pictures we take.

Unfortunately, the one we liked was out of stock, so we went over to PC World at Doncaster, and they had a much better one, that was slightly cheaper too. So we bought that and a small bag.

We wanted to go and see son #1 in his new house, but we were already late and we needed him to guide us in. So we went from Doncaster to the poet’s parents and offered to take them over as well. Unfortunately, we couldn’t raise son #2 on the phone for directions or the address, and we needed to be away. So we’re going to have to visit another time. He sounded very disappointed when we finally made contact again, but we don’t mind making another trip over there when we can.

It was already 2:30pm and we wanted to do a 4¼-mile walk, to maintain the fitness we’re gradually building up. But I lost track of the road signs when we reached a particularly busy village and we ended up at the start of our walk at 4pm. That was too late to do the full walk, so we cut the last half-a-mile off, and we got home at about 8pm.

We do have lots of pictures again, but I’ve been busy this morning tidying up files and pictures on the desktop computer so I can do a proper backup of critical data.

I’m busy this afternoon too, as I have to go into town to hand-deliver the poet’s proxy-vote application for the general election. After discovering the council had “lost” both of our postal application forms (very strange that, losing both of them …), I’d fired off a bit of a scathing complaint … and they miraculously “found” my postal vote application … but only realised half-way through the phone conversation that they should have miraculously found another one as well.

So, while I’m in tarn (as the locals call it), I’m doing that, paying some cheques into banks (hurrah!), and doing some more holiday shopping.

There are likely to be 5 blogs this week, then – including today’s, the weekend’s walk, this week’s diary of a scaredy cat, plans for the next 2 weeks, and a publication blog on Friday (if it auto-publishes okay). So I’ll leave this one here. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Busy weekend

Comments are closed.