Holiday “snaps”

protaros 01
The view from our balcony (Picture: Ian Wordsworth)

The final leg of our honeymoon started at 5am on a Sunday morning when we got up to head off to Glasgow Airport for our flight to Cyprus. We were only going for a week.

The poet had been craving sunshine – proper sunshine – and so when we got the chance we decided to take advantage of having pet sitters and off we popped.

protaros 02
The view from our balcony (Picture: Ian Wordsworth)

We had an all inclusive hotel, which I’m really not used to, but it was nice for our honeymoon.

I’ve never been to Cyprus but lots of friends have raved about how beautiful it is. And it is – plus, there’s still a very heavy British influence there on things like the road signs and traffic lights. I was expecting it to be a bit more Greek, but it’s actually quite cosmopolitan. We had glorious weather on all but one day.

protaros 03
Ian in the pool (Picture: Diane Wordsworth)

So here are some “snapshots” of our first and last days there. The more touristy pictures will follow in the next few posts.

I’m suddenly very busy again. Not only did I already have one job waiting for me when we got back off holiday, but another arrived on my first day back at work.

Two days later another arrived.

protaros 04
Protaras, our closest big town (Picture: Ian Wordsworth)

And I think there may be another 2 editing or proofreading jobs in the pipeline too, but one of them needs me to get a pdf editor. I’m not sure I want a free one as I need one that will do the job properly and not drop out or expire when I least expect it.

Aside from the editing work, I’ve also come back from both Scotland and Cyprus with loads and loads of ideas for articles and fillers.

protaros 05
Doing his Daniel Craig impression ♥ (Picture: Diane Wordsworth)

I’ve been frantically making notes and doing some market research and, once the current edit is done (due in tomorrow), I’ll probably look at getting some pitches out. I’d like to send at least a pitch a day, or maybe 5 per week. (I did say there were loads of ideas.)

Last week too was spent redrafting the outline for CATCH THE RAINBOW. I’m trying to write scene-by-scene this time, rather than chapter-by-chapter and I’m hoping that helps me to flit from one era or viewpoint to another. I now have 75 scenes, including a prologue and plus an afterword. So I’m chomping at the bit to be getting on with that as well.

Then I have 2 books in for proofreading that I’ve already edited. I usually leave those until the proofreader/author revisions come in. But I’d like to build in proper proofreading time  to my schedule if I can, so I know they’ve picked up everything that I would.

protaros 06
Diane doesn’t really do sunbathing … (Picture: Ian Wordsworth)

And the promise of more to come … It’s very nice to be so busy. On the job boards I get so many invitations to pitch now that I don’t even trawl the wanted pages any more. So yes, lots to do on the writing and editing side of things.

There’s stuff I need to do around the house too, and I’ve only just today hit the bottom of the laundry basket following our holiday. It’s only taken 2 weeks …

protaros 07
Watersports on Protaras beach (Picture: Diane Wordsworth)

I want to bake more as well, though, making full use of the fresh ingredients we’re getting once a fortnight. I think the poet is using pak choi for tea this evening … I have no idea what that is or what to do with it. But hopefully he does.

The poet has one more band practice this week before other band members start their summer holidays. The next gig is in August, so it will be nice to have the summer off.

protaros 08
Arty shot (Picture: Ian Wordsworth)

We have plans to go to a few summer festivals over the break and not having to be back on a Saturday in time for a gig will mean we don’t have to dash around.

And I think that’s it for today. I have work due in tomorrow and another job starting tomorrow, so I really need to be getting on with that now. The heating has packed up too, so I’m also hanging around waiting for the gas man.

Enjoy the pictures. 🙂

