Time management works

IMG_2470
Tobermory (Picture: Ian Wordsworth)

The weekend was hectic.

On Friday I spent much of the day completing electronic edits for a client job. I finished at about 6pm, sent it off, and by 7:45pm he’d paid me. This is excellent. After a busy week, though, I was quite tired, but at least I’d accomplished everything I’d set out to. Or almost everything.

Because I wanted to get that in before the deadline (Saturday), it meant I’d sacrificed my writing time. So first chance on Saturday I caught up a little on that, while the poet continued with a painting he’s started. I don’t often work at the weekends, but this was an exception.

I finally managed an hour of yoga, and B&Q called (for the third time), closing the complaint and offering to send us a gift card.

We also had a mad tidy-up session, which included changing the spare bed and clearing all the clutter from the spare room, as we were off to collect son #1 + g/f at 4pm. On the way home from collecting them, we stopped off at Yo Yo Noodle for tea, which is one of my favourite places but one they’d not even heard of.

When we got home and they’d settled in, we went for a walk up to the lake and back. Then off we went to the Gonzo Comedy Club in Holmfirth. This was our second time, but the first time they’d really been to a comedy show. We had a nice time, but one of the acts had a bit of a stumble from a not-very-well-highlighted step in the darkened room. Our table was right on this step and we’d already struggled to get in on that side. But in the dark, the poor chap didn’t see it, and he fell through the audience, taking 2 drinks with him, before landing heavily on the stage area.

I have to say he rescued the situation very well and turned the crowd right around, but it was at the sacrifice of his usual routine. So now we’d like to see him again to see what he should have done. We were very impressed with his attitude, but the club might like to address that hidden step issue.

By the time we’d got back and had a chat with a few drinks it was very, very late. But son #2 was up bright and early Sunday morning and walking the dog to the Co-op. Rufus, of course, had to shout to everyone that he was going for a walk, but he apparently calmed down by the time they reached the main road. The poet made us all a cooked breakfast, and then we took them home again. It was nice to have them with us and to meet his girlfriend for the first time.

Sunday afternoon we stopped off on the way home to buy a coffee table for the living room (aka an “occasional” table), and then we chilled for the rest of the day, even going to bed very, very early.

This morning I decided on my “one job I want to do today” thing and was at my desk at 9:30am again. First job was gig list work (after first “housework” chores of “empty dishwasher” and “fill washing machine”), and as the gig list didn’t take very long, I was able to start “daily competitions” earlier. Another time management tip I’m adopting is “start the next job as soon as you’ve finished the previous one”, rather than wait until the allocated time.

Then, because I also completed that job relatively early (despite catching up after the weekend), I was able to respond to a client query that came in over the weekend regarding the work I sent back to him on Friday. This was the one job I wanted to complete that wasn’t already on the list. But another was to stick to the list, which I seem to be doing.

My next job started bang on time, at 11am (“blog” 😉 ), and as it’s shorter than I thought it would be, I can see me having a cup of tea at 11:30am before starting the next job, “writing time (2 hours)” – hurrah! Then this afternoon I start the next client job – another 2 hours.

I have to say, the tips I’m reading in GET EVERYTHING DONE by Mark Forster are certainly working. And I’m trying to squeeze in either a whole chapter or at least half of one every day.

Right, there’s another job jobbed early. 😀 I can see I might be revisiting the schedule again once I’ve worked with it for a while.

How was your weekend?

