Another new week

bullfinch
Bullfinch at RSPB Old Moor (Picture: Ian Wordsworth)

On Friday our last fruit and veg boxes (for now) arrived, and we were determined to use it all up before it perished. We didn’t get much chance to do that Friday because we were going fishing after collecting my car and didn’t get back until gone 9pm. We both had a good session: he caught 65 fish (yes, really – he didn’t “keep-net” any but he did count them); and I wrote 1,094 words of the short story I started last time, ending up with a 1,972-word story.

On Saturday we were supposed to be going to a local music festival but decided to stay home. I read quite a bit and the poet did some good fishing prep work he’d been putting off and putting off but that really needed to be done at some point. Son #2 has decided to take up fishing again, now he’s home from London, and he’s after spare gear from his dad and his grandad.

Before we went out the poet prepared a Lancashire hotpot in the slow cooker, using meat from the supermarket, potatoes, carrots, onions and mushrooms from the veg box, and fresh chives and rosemary from our own garden! I think the “from our own garden” bit was by far the best bit, and, of course, the tastiest! We finished off the strawberry flan, which was made with partially set jelly in the end and worked very nicely, but failed to find a replacement flan sponge for the one I ruined anywhere.

Sunday was a trip to Birmingham to see my parents. We made very good time and had a nice couple of hours with them. On the way home we dropped off a birthday card at his parents’ house and had an hour with them too. I asked the mother-in-law if she had a sponge flan dish I could borrow, and she did – but she told me to keep it, although she wouldn’t mind her glass pie dish back we’d had for several months by now! 😀

When we got home, while the poet made a cheese, mushroom and courgette omelette (mushrooms and courgette from the veg box …), I made my first ever sponge flan. I also made 4 small jellies and kept ¼ pint for the glaze. I still had strawberry yoghurt with mine, but the poet doesn’t really like yoghurt so he’s pushing the boat out still with single cream. What a scrumptious tea!

And so another week ends and a new one begins and, once again, it’s a fairly busy one. I have the usual writing work scheduled in, the usual job-surfing work, the usual editing work, but I’m also doing the tax return this week. Then, at the end of the week, we’re off to Harrogate for two events (one Friday evening, one Saturday), for the Theakstons Old Peculiar Crime Writing Festival. And, on Sunday, the poet’s band is playing at a charity music festival.

What are you up to this week?

10 thoughts on “Another new week

  1. melissaamateis

    Oh, it all sounds so lovely. I’m envious of all the terrific food you and hubby are preparing. I can’t complain too much, though, as when I got home from work, my husband had a plate of yummy food waiting for me. 🙂

    Temps are high this week – we are over 100 degrees F – so lots of staying indoors, which doesn’t bother me too much, though I do wish I could walk.

    Did quite a bit of writing on the novel over the weekend, so hope to continue the momentum for the rest of the week.

    Like

    1. It’s been warm here, but yesterday turned humid before we had a rain storm (no thunder). Now we’re cooking more from scratch I’m working at lower fat and lower sugar ingredients … he’s losing weight but I’m piling it on!

      Like

      1. melissaamateis

        Men can lose weight so much easier than we can. It’s frustrating! I went through menopause after my last surgery (they removed my remaining ovary that I had left following my hysterectomy); I put back on 15 pounds that I’d previously lost. SO FRUSTRATING.

        Like

  2. lwbean

    That omelette sounds amazing.

    I’m trying to get work cleared away so I can get away to Ontario next week. Plus the girl child and her husband are moving, so I’m tapped for manual labor on Friday. 🙂

    Like

    1. It was gorgeous. He’s a very good cook. I wouldn’t even touch a courgette until he put one in an omelette for me. Have a fab time in Ontario and don’t forget to wave at my brother and his family. 🙂 (Dundalk.)

      Like

  3. Tax! YUK!! I hope you are sane by the end of the week, Diane. I am always in awe as to how much you can pack into a week. Don’t forget the fun factor! So important. Wishing you a fabulous time at the writing festivals. All the best.

    Like

    1. I fell off the radar yesterday but am back on the wagon today – taking it easy, though. We have our fun at the weekend and on evenings, which is why I tend not to work then. 😀

      Like

Comments are closed.