Gigging again

monkey dust
Monkey Dust: (l – r) Dave drums, Alan bass, Mel lights, Ian (Wormy) vocals, Tom guitar (Picture: Diane Wordsworth)

This weekend just gone saw the return of Monkey Dust to the gig circuit after, pretty much, the summer off, apart from the Wheel of Light festival, which was a one-off. Here’s a picture I took of the lads at that festival. I think it’s one of very few with them all together.

Friday night we stayed in and watched the telly. On Saturday we drove over to Edale to attempt to climb Kinder Scout … but, oh, what a test of my current fitness (or not). We walked for about an hour and the hill was killing me – I really, really hate big hills.

It was raining on the mountain, which meant we were wearing waterproofs on an otherwise warm day. And that made it quite warm and sweaty going. We sheltered for something to eat, but the rain had brought out every single fly or ant on the planet. Even the dog was getting agitated by them, snapping at them, trying to catch them. And when I couldn’t face another climb up for as far as the eye could see, we turned around and went back down.

While I was a bit disappointed that I couldn’t do it, I wasn’t surprised. But I do need to increase my fitness. So we hope to try it again and again, and see how much further we get each time.

On our way there, my dad called to let me know my Yesterday Remembered story is in the August issue of Best of British. He’s a subscriber, so I think he got his a few days earlier than it appears on the shelves. He was dead chuffed because they chose to use a 1970s picture of him, Mom and my brother on a beach.

On the way back we toyed with going fishing again, but the fishing tackle shop was in the wrong direction and, to be honest, I just wanted to chill on the settee after attempting Kinder Scout. So we watched 3 films back-to-back.

Sunday was that first gig back, and as we had to be out by 1:30pm, that didn’t give us much chance to do anything else. I nipped to the shop, with the dog, to buy the makings of a picnic while the poet Hoovered the house from top to bottom. The gig started at 4pm, so we were home by 7:30pm, and tucking into a salmon tea by 8pm.

We’re fairly busy from now on, gig-wise. There are two gigs next weekend, then we have the following weekend off; there’s one gig the weekend after that, then we have the bank holiday weekend and the first weekend in September off; and then there’s only one weekend off between then and Christmas.

The diet is going well so far. I’ve lost 3¾lb this time already (on top of another 2lb I’d already got off before changing our diet to low GI), and a few inches from various parts of the body. The poet said last night he didn’t even feel as though we were on a diet. (He lost over half a stone – 7lb – before we went on honeymoon, and has kept that off, and lost a couple more pounds too.)

On Friday evening, after an aborted trip to the hairdresser (I went for a drive, parked up in the sunshine – on the M1 – cancelled the appointment, turned around and came back), an unsolicited email arrived asking if I’d like a big proofreading job. I checked their details as soon as I got home, and replied almost straight away – yes please! So that means I now have in one job from lovely-already-boss, two more for lovely-new-boss, and this one for lovely-potential-boss. If I can keep those three contracts going, I’ll never need to trawl for editing or proofreading work again.

It does mean another busy week ahead, but I’ve set my word count challenge for August at 18,000 words. That equates to 18 working days in August, but may turn into 19 days (and 19,000 words) if we don’t end up going camping for the bank holiday weekend. We’d like to take in some of the Evesham fishing festival again this year and, if we camp, we can visit other places too, including my parents, and we can take the dog.

What are you up to this week?

2 thoughts on “Gigging again

Comments are closed.