A writer’s work

IMG_3403a
Dinnertime – dog watching swans watching dog, River Avon, Evesham (Picture: Ian Wordsworth)

Phew! It’s been a week and a half – and only 4 days of it too. How busy have I been?

Much of the work so far this week has been new month/new writing year admin. We had a bit of a rush on with the gig list as we were a day short, but that was all done and ready by yesterday dinnertime.

I’ve been busily editing a rush job for a fairly new client, finishing the hard copy edits yesterday and about to start the electronic copy edits today. Then that can go back to the client, along with an invoice later today. (Hurrah!)

Writing admin has mostly been the conclusion of the writing year plan, giving me a good, firm structure (hopefully) to work through throughout the year. You can find out more of what that entails by reading the new diary of a freelance writer, which you can also join in with if you wish.

Writing admin has also included the first of the research work, thinking ahead to April next year. Already I have 4 general topics for which to find as many slants as I can. I also have several “throwaways” that I’ll share here in next week’s diary, including at least one worked example. I’ll go into more detail in the diary.

Another proofreading job came in from an existing client, and that’s pretty much filled me up for at least the rest of September and probably beyond. That means I’m now taking editing and proofreading work for October onwards.

This habit of doing my work in the mornings and everyone else’s work in the afternoons seems to be working very well. I’m not feeling cheated, and I’m getting lots of admin work done too. This morning, for example, I revamped the editorial services page of my website, added a “latest news” item to the front page and asked lovely-already-boss if he’d let me have a testimonial. (He said yes, but I think he’s working on it. 🙂 )

We have a whole weekend ahead of us that, until yesterday, wasn’t filled at all. Now we’re going to look at tents in Leeds tomorrow, maybe some motorhomes (in case the poet goes for a conversion project, but he’s not very excited about that at the moment), and then we’re off on our first “research trip” for the new writing regime. The poet is bringing his camera and we’re hoping for some good photography weather. It will also be a good run out for the dog – and for us.

On Sunday I think we’re going fishing. He has a match coming up next weekend and he wants to get some practise in. If the dog comes too, and if he behaves himself, I may get some extra writing work done. OR … (more likely) I’ll catch up on some reading.

What are you up to this weekend? Have a great one.

2 thoughts on “A writer’s work

  1. Hope to recover from exhaustion with grandparent duties in time for tomorrows RNA social in York. Otherwise more family and maybe a smidgeon of reading and writing, if I’m lucky. #needtopickmyselfoffthefloor. Have a good one

    Like

Comments are closed.