Packed weekend

sloes
Sloes (Picture: Ian Wordsworth)

We had another jam-packed weekend, and we didn’t even go out anywhere. Or not at night, at any rate.

Saturday began with a drive to the tackle shop for a practice fish on Sunday. I thought the match was next weekend, but it’s the weekend after, which is fortunate as we’re busy this coming weekend.

Then we drove up to Winfields near Selby to have a look at the tent we thought we’d chosen, and there was another there that we prefer, which is dearer but bigger. They have a bigger store in Hull and another, their flagship, in Haslingden. So we want to have another run out one of the days to look at accessories too. When we can afford the tent, we’ll buy one.

We’ve really become taken with the inflatable tents, so I think we’re more likely to stick with one of those now, rather than aim for a trailer tent. They’re as big as the old frame tents used to be, but much more lightweight and easier to carry. I do need a bed off the floor, but we might just go for a double-height double-width airbed (campbeds are the most uncomfortable beds in the entire world, so there’s no way I’ll be attracted to buy one of those again – ever).

After that we headed cross country to the Yorkshire Dales/Pennines for the first of a series of research trips and visits. We had a lovely afternoon in Haworth. Here we took lots of pictures, soaked up the atmosphere, and snacked on sandwiches and cake.

It was late by the time we got home and the poet needed some light to prepare his rigs for the following day.

Sunday morning we were up and off with the car packed to visit the poet’s parents in Doncaster and then head off to the fishery. He had a good afternoon experimenting with various techniques and baits and is more confident about the match.

When we got home, a pork casserole was waiting for us in the slow cooker, and we also made a pudding/cake of apricot cut and come again cake and some chocolate chip cookies … well, I started to make them but he finished them. He loves to have a go at anything like that.

This week is another 4-day week and I have lots to pack in. I have one book to edit and another to proofread, both for just the one client. I also have last week’s invoice to raise – I finished and submitted last week’s biggie, but didn’t have time to raise the invoice.  I have 2 hours of study time booked in this week and I intend to use it. I have 10 hours of writing time booked in too, and I intend to use that as well.

We have lots of pictures from the weekend again, but I’m still using those from Evesham and Kinder. Today’s picture was taken on our walk around Coughton Court last weekend.

