Feeling a bit lazy

Nice ... (Picture: Diane Parkin)
My boys … (Picture: Diane Wordsworth)

After working almost solidly on 3 particularly heavy or urgent edits over the past 2 – 3 weeks, today I’m feeling a little bit idle. And I can’t get going. So I’m doing things out of order. Naughty me. But it’s okay, it’s allowed. Nothing is written in stone and the diary is always in pencil.

Perhaps working on 3 novels or novel ideas at the same time is also taking it out of me. Perhaps I just need a day to regenerate. Or perhaps I need a good 14 hours sleep. Whatever, I’m having an easy day of it.

After my whinge on Monday about the washing, the laundry pixie showed up and spent 4 days catching up on the backlog for me. He did a great job, but on the day he actually emptied the laundry basket, he was slightly dismayed to see it had already started to fill up again. Ah well, it gave me the chance to shift this week’s heavy edit a little quicker and was very much appreciated.

The diary has been packed solid all week, but there are also lots and lots of ticks and absolutely no crosses. Today is no different. I printed off a new edit yesterday, and will settle downstairs later to start that. I should be doing writing work at the moment, but I’ve moved the blog up, so I can go downstairs with a notepad too if I want to get away from the desk environment.

What I have done so far today is raise a nice, juicy new invoice (hurrah!) and chased 2 overdue payments (boo!). I’m also running through a few author’s corrections on the heavy edit I finished on Wednesday so I can send that to the publisher.

We’ve not had much chance to go walking just recently, other than down the lane to pick fruit. Perhaps that’s contributing to the sluggishness today. But this weekend won’t be any different. I think we’ll be chilling tonight, then tomorrow we have appointments to attend to and #1 son + bird to pick up and a gig in Wakefield for the band. They’re staying until at least Sunday dinner, as I believe they’re fetching that with them for the poet to cook, and then we’ll be taking them home again. Perhaps next time they come they can bring their walking boots and we can all go out together.

The picture above is one of my favourites. It was taken almost 2 years ago exactly on one of our favourite local walks, but I don’t think we’ve been back since.

Have a great weekend.

