Great Halloween weekend

P1040220
Monkey Dust at the Winning Post in Doncaster for Halloween. (Picture: Diane Wordsworth)

We had a fantastic Halloween weekend, even if it was another busy weekend.

We started by collecting my dad for a couple of days, and he was able to look after the animals for us while we went over to Doncaster for a Monkey Dust gig.

We’d had cottage pie for tea but got in at 2am and were a bit peckish, so we both had snacks. Dad had fallen asleep on the settee so we woke him up and sent him to bed.

The gig was lots of fun with plenty of people joining in with the spirit of things, and there were first and second prizes for the fancy dress.

Sunday was a right lazy day for the poet and Dad. But at 11am, as planned, I settled down at the kitchen table with my notebook/switch and managed to clatter out 1,700 words for NaNoWriMo.

The poet cooked us a lovely chicken dinner, with Yorkshire puddings. And I finally used up the last of those cooking apples in a crumble with some blackberries. The poet even made our own homemade custard. It was all really, really yummy.

Today my dad goes home again, but I’ve still managed 1,756 words for NaNoWriMo, so I’m happy with 3,506 words so far – and I’m even a little bit ahead. The target at the end of day 2 is 3,334 so I already have a few in the bank.

How’s your NaNo going?

4 thoughts on “Great Halloween weekend

Comments are closed.