Long weekend

IMG_4002aHad it been a much nicer day last Saturday, this would have been a cracking picture. As it is, I still love the way he caught that water droplet on the bottom of these berries.

We have tomorrow until Monday off. I was going to schedule this to post tomorrow, but decided to do it today instead. I already scheduled a post for the gig list for Monday morning. I hope that one works.

Tomorrow, we were going to Lincoln for the Christmas market. I’ve never been to Lincoln and I’ve wanted to visit the Christmas market ever since I moved up here 12 years ago. And tomorrow, we were finally going … until I found out that they don’t allow dogs.

Now, the Lincoln Christmas market is being held in the town centre, i.e. a public, open space. So I didn’t understand why they won’t allow dogs. And so, as you do, I asked, expecting them to say something along the lines of “Oh, it’s in the castle grounds and they don’t allow dogs in the castle”, which would be fair enough.

What I didn’t expect was “Because they’ll get under everyone’s feet” and “Why would you want to take your dog anyway” and “Leave your dog at home [alone, for 8, 10, 12, enter figure of choice here hours]”.

Well, if it’s simply because it gets unbearably busy, then wouldn’t a more pertinent announcement be something like “While the market is being held in a public place, it does get very busy so we don’t recommend you bring your dog”? That would have been fine.

But to ask me why we want to take our dog anyway, and why don’t we just leave him home alone for hours, like what they obviously do, is out of order. That’s like me asking why they’d want to take their child or someone who uses a wheelchair. It really is none of anybody else’s business why we want to take our dog anywhere. All I was asking was, why aren’t they allowed?

After several hours of to-ing and fro-ing, and not a single organiser from the Christmas market bothering to reply, someone suggested Matlock Victorian Christmas market instead.

So I researched it, and I called them up and they said “The only place we don’t allow dogs is in the food marquee”, which is the usual and reasonable response. And when I told her why I was asking, she said they “wouldn’t dream” of trying to ban dogs from their town centre.

Guess which one we’re heading for instead. And, weather permitting, we might have some more pictures to share next week. I don’t think I shall ever make it to Lincoln now on the back of this recent experience. Not ever. And, to rub salt in, someone else said that they would also go to the Matlock market instead, for the exact same reason.

I don’t know what else we’re doing over the weekend until Monday, apart from a gig Saturday night over in Doncaster – surprise, surprise. We might try another walk, we may do the regular weekly shopping, or we may have another go at putting the garden to bed for the winter. But on Monday we’re off to Meadowhall to do our Christmas shopping.

So that’s another 2 x 4-day weeks on the trot.

Whatever you’re up to this weekend, make sure it’s a grandun. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Long weekend

  1. Very envious. I love Matlock and Matlock Bath (although Cromford is our spiritual Peak District home!). If you’ve never been, it’s very close to Matlock – and not only has an amazing history and one of the best restaurants I’ve ever been to (The Marketplace), but also the truly amazing Scarthin Books, which has a vegetarian cafe tucked away amongst the shelves. Highly recommended!

    Like

    • The Derbyshire peaks is part of our local stomping ground. I used to go to Matlock a lot from Birmingham. I’m closer now, but this is only the second time I’ve been since moving up here.

      Like

Comments are closed.