My fat year: 2 steps forward, 1 step back

IMG_4290a
At Fountain’s Abbey (Picture: Ian Wordsworth)

I’ve not had a great week myself, but the poet has lost a respectable 6lb altogether. In less than 4 weeks. That’s not a bad weight-loss of 1½lb per week. He’s already starting to look good for it too, trimmer, and he fits into his trousers better.

After 2 starvation days and feeling very hungry and fed-up by the end of them, only to see I’d not only not lost weight but put some back on, I decided to take another look at the diet choice.

And we’re changing to the lifestyle changing diet, where we just make healthier choices for main meals and stick to fruit instead of cakes, biscuits or chocolate for snacks. Again, the poet is already doing very well on this, taking fruit to work so he doesn’t succumb to toast or bacon sarnies.

We’re also learning about sugar and trying to cut that down, but I have a massive sweet tooth and I think that may have to be a gradual change rather than going cold turkey. There’s a lot of science in there too, and too much just overloads my poor brain, so that has to be drip-fed too.

Last week I received a congratulatory email from my online diet club for losing 4lb. I wonder if I’ll received a scolding email this week …

On the bright side, 4 weeks in, it’s measurements day. And I’m delighted to report that I’ve at least lost some inches –  1½” from my hips, another 1½” from my waist, ½” from my right arm, and ¼” from my left arm. So that’s 3¾” all together.

This weekend we’re hoping to build a walk in on our way back from my parents. I’m also starting to contemplate walking the dog for up to 30 minutes every day.

6 thoughts on “My fat year: 2 steps forward, 1 step back

  1. Good luck with this. I tried the 5:2 for 2 weeks a couple of years ago and that was enough for me.

    I think the key with cutting out refined sugar is to get sweet things in that feel like a treat. I personally like pineapple, raspberries and strawberries so I am trying to use those as treaty snacks, while also munching my way through a lot of sweet citrus fruit… good luck to both of you.

    Like

    1. Thank you!

      I did really well on the 5:2 last time, but it was a few years ago now and I was still single. I think it’s harder when there are others eating at the same meal times. This one was different in that it allows you 800 calories on starvation days, as opposed to 500 – 600, but it still wasn’t enough.

      We like the same fruit, you and I. 🙂 I’m not into apples or oranges much, but I do like satsumas, clementines and mandarins, strangely enough. And I WILL eat apples if they’ve already been peeled and sliced.

      Thanks for the suggestions.

      Like

  2. Gill

    Hi Diane – if I can chip in?

    I’ve had great success with the 5:2, I did 6 months on it a couple of years ago and lost a steady 1 to 2lbs a week and would not even consider any other kind of diet.
    I could never, EVER go to a diet club, I’m not a very outgoing person so I wouldn’t like the ‘we’re all in it together’ idea and I don’t think that I’d like to be ‘talked-to’ either.
    I also won’t buy diet meals, I don’t like to think that I’m paying more money for less food and they can taste quite fake as well.
    Calorie counting is out as it would bore me to tears to be honest and the feeling of deprivation and eating differently to my OH is a 7 day a week commitment that I would hate. Also the planning and thinking about diet food 7 days a week is something that I don’t have the headspace for
    So 5;2 it is then –
    After much experimentation my regime is to, as much as possible, ignore food for 2 days a week and keep out of the kitchen. I don’t plan a days worth of 500 calories of mini-meals so all the 5;2 recipe books are of no interest to me.
    All I do is have my usual homemade porridge (made with half milk & half water and microwaved) at lunchtime instead of breakfast time and a bowl of either homemade or bought soup (so that I know the calories count) and top up to 500 calories with milk in my tea and maybe a cracker or something to eat with my soup depending on the calorie count of the soup.
    There is no denying that I feel hungry but I turn that around in my head to a virtuous feeling of ‘job well done’ and ‘small price to pay’ for 5 other days of eating what the heck I like. If I find that I start to feel sorry for myself I tell myself that in some unfortunate parts of the world my days diet would be considered acceptable or even gluttony.
    I manage my OH’s meals by making a freezer full of my own ready meals of curry, chilli, Bolognese etc for him and it’s no bother to heat up his dinner and my soup at the same time so that I’m out of the kitchen in 10 to15 minutes.
    With this way of working I literally have 2 days off from thinking about and handling food so I consider this a very mind-freeing way to diet and dirt cheap too as I’m eating food that costs pennies – it’s perfect all round.
    Don’t forget that there are other long term health benefits with the low intake of calories for periods of time. Its a while since I read the Michael Mosley book so I can’t quote them but it’s not just about losing weight, there is much more to it than that.
    I too call them Starvation Days, mine are Wednesday and Friday. It’s Saturday today, I’ve slept well, I didn’t eat my pillow through the night and I’m happy to wait until about 8-ish to have porridge with my OH so I’m not desperate to stuff my face on waking.
    Later this morning I’m off to Tesco to get my weeks shopping which has ALWAYS included a pack of crumpets for Saturday and Sunday elevenses, a pack of 6 of the Cadbury’s ‘little bars’ of chocolate as a treat through the week (the really thin ones that you’d give to a small child) which are eaten straight from the freezer because that’s the way we like them and 2 indulgent cream cakes for Saturday and Sunday lunchtime pudding – what other kind of diet would allow this much fun?

    Like

    1. Thanks for dropping by, and for taking the time to leave such an interesting reply. I did do 5:2 a few years ago, and it did work then. But it’s not worked since, and it might be due to a change in blood sugar levels. We’re trying lots of different things, though, and so far our kick up the bum last week seems to be paying off. Time will tell. Good luck to you! 🙂

      Like

  3. Good luck with the diet, slow and steady and don’t beat yourself up when things go to plan just get back on with it. Ignore Wormy Men lose weight much more easily than we do! 😦

    Like

Comments are closed.