I won! Harlem Globetrotters tickets

blog 1
The Harlem Globetrotters (Picture: Ian Wordsworth)

One of my daily chores, every weekday, is “daily competitions”. I do them as part of a daily warm-up, instead of playing games or scrolling through Facebook. I’ve won a few things – money, DVDs, tickets, goodie bags, etc – and back in April (yes, I’m still catching up), I won 2 tickets to see the Harlem Globetrotters in Sheffield.

I’ve seen the Harlem Globetrotters before, over 20 years ago, but I can’t remember who I went with (the Globetrotters were clearly more memorable than my companion). The poet’s never seen them before, so he was definitely up for it. And I just love them – I used to watch the cartoon when I was a kid.

blog 2
The Harlem Globetrotters (Picture: Ian Wordsworth)

We started off at a KFC, which I didn’t really enjoy because the meat was a bit tough (I did mention it to the staff, politely). And then we carried on to the arena, where we were stung for parking – about £7, but as the tickets were free, we didn’t complain too loudly.

It was very much a family show with lots of kids there, excited to see their favourite players.

Some of the fun and games have changed – for example, they don’t sing “We know where you’re going!” when someone’s on their way to the toilet, and they no longer empty the contents of a woman’s handbag onto the floor (or they didn’t in Sheffield in April).

Instead they make a fuss about their sole female player and they have a few mascots who come on and dance and clown around. They also hand out a few gifts and let members of the audience join in with some of the game.

We enjoyed the evening, it was in 4 easy-to-digest bursts, with lots of entertainment, funniness and, of course, a game of basketball (the Globetrotters won, surprisingly …), and with an early finish. We were back home by about 9:30pm.

blog 3
Obligatory selfie.
4 thoughts on “I won! Harlem Globetrotters tickets

Comments are closed.