My fat year: Ditching the sugar

00000296
Not my “magic” jeggings, but a good pair all the same. Brilliant for walking in, and fit in wellies too. (Picture: Ian Wordsworth)

The year started fairly well with us both losing weight quite quickly. The poet lost a lot more than me in a lot less time – he’s lost almost 2 stone (28lb), and it’s staying off, although he’s plateauing at the moment. I lost around half a stone (6 – 7lb) and was delighted when I dropped down into the next stone-zone.

But then the year went a bit pear-shaped and sensible, regular eating went almost totally out of the window.

Three of our 4 parents ended up in 3 different hospitals at the same time, in 3 different towns, 2 of which were 100 miles away. The poet started to look for a new job, and that also meant that we needed to find somewhere else to live. So we had new job + house-hunting and subsequent moving thrown into the mix.

Everything settled down, with the final dregs about 3 weeks ago, and the parents are all well and healthy and back home. However, things in boxes still means we’re not sorted yet, even if life is sorted.

On Saturday we were going out, and lots of our clothes are still packed. I struggled to find something to wear, and the jeans that I did put on resulted in a massive belly overhang! So those came off and I put some magic jeggings on instead (leggings/jeans) that hold everything in.

This morning I weighed myself and was disgusted to see I’ve put a further pound on this week, on top of the 3½lb I’d already gradually put on again. I’m still lighter than I was when I started, but straight away I want to lose 4½lb to get down to a level stone again.

This morning I took all new measurements. Then I found a 30-minute Hatha yoga video on YouTube for beginners and did that before I did anything else.

I don’t want a fad diet as I don’t believe they work. Only the 5:2 diet has been successful for me, but I think it’s easier to do when you’re on your own or if the person/people you live with are doing it with you.

What I do want to do is reduce the amount of sugar I eat. I have a very sweet tooth, but I’m horrified when I see how much sugar a cheese sandwich or a pint of milk have in them. If I want sweet, then I want to get it from sweets or cakes, not savoury foods. I want it to be blatant, hit-you-in-the-face sugar, not hidden away in something that has no right to have sugar in it.

I’ve rejoined Weight Loss Resources and may pay for their continued membership. It’s not expensive, and they have a nutrition calculator to give me a rough idea of how much sugar (and other things) I’m eating.

Diet sites are all well and good, and if they work, great. But I get annoyed when they’re constantly thrusting their own products down your throats, and many of the diet plans they run aren’t very flexible. I don’t want a diet plan, and it’s difficult to work out calories, etc, when you make a lot of food yourself from scratch – I really don’t have time to input ALL of the ingredients. So I’ll use WLR for guidance, but it won’t break the bank while I do so.

I’ve been researching the low/reduced sugar and sugar-free diets and diet books that are available too, but they just seem to replace one sugar with another. And because they’re American or Australian, there are ingredients I’ve never even heard of, let alone ingredients we’ll have to make a special trip to a health store for.

BUT … I am reducing the sugar and the fat I put in things I cook myself. And compared to how much sugar is in a shop-bought loaf of bread, for example, the poet only adds 1tsp of sugar to his recipe for TWO loaves, and he may start reducing that. We’re not really cutting out fats either, just the ones that are bad for you. This means we still have cream and butter. It’s the sugar we both want to cut down on.

Wish us luck, then. And do let me know if you’re doing your own diet and how you’re getting along.

8 thoughts on “My fat year: Ditching the sugar

  1. melissaamateis

    Two years ago, I had lost 30 pounds and was keeping it off. Then I had surgery to remove my remaining ovary (which was keeping me from hitting menopause) and ever since then, I’ve gained back 20 pounds. Frustrating doesn’t begin to cover it! And my health has further complicated things. I was going and working out at Curves three times a week before all this happened, but since my rheumatoid arthritis has grown worse, I had to give up my membership. Now I just walk when I can.

    I try to follow a fairly low-carb diet because that’s how I lost the weight to begin with. It was much easier to count carbs than calories and I found out I was actually eating more instead of less, but still losing weight. I’ve tried to get back on that same diet, but my sweet tooth gets the best of me, plus, being in menopause, my body has changed and the weight doesn’t come off like it used to. Add in the days when I don’t feel good and I turn to food for comfort and it’s a recipe for disaster.

    So at this point, until the new meds I’m taking for the RA kick in (and I hope they do – supposed to take up to 4 months for them to work), I will just do as much as I can. 🙂

    Glad to hear you’re all moved!

    Like

    1. I’ve been keeping an eye on your health concerns, so to speak, and it looks as though you’ve had a tough time of it. Sweet teeth are the devil, aren’t they? Good luck. I hope they find something to regulate everything again for you.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like a lot of hard work all this dieting malarkey . I ndon’t diet as such, I just cut down a bit if my clothes are getting tight. That’s the way I’ve worked for years. It’s almost an unconscious thing. I hadn’t realised I did it until my daughters started “dieting”.

    gramswisewords.blogspot.com

    Like

    1. That’s why I don’t really like doing diets – too much faff for not a lot of gain. The best results we get are when we cut down on the snacking and eat smaller portions. Reducing the sugar is the next step.

      Nice to see you here, by the way. Thanks for visiting. 🙂

      Like

  3. Oh gosh, Diane. I’m dealing with the same sort of up-and-down weight. I had a partial thyroidectomy six years ago, and it’s been a hellish ride ever since.

    Last year, the endocrinologist prescribed phentermine. It worked, though it gave me way too much energy. I was cleaning things that weren’t dirty, and I don’t like cleaning. It helped — 15 pounds gone in two months — but maintaining has been a constant struggle. I exercise, hard, every day but Sunday just to keep that 15 off. I want to lose more. Nothing doing. Can’t break past that 15.

    They say portion control is key, that diets are won in the kitchen. Maybe. I know I went to 1,200 calories a day with no luck. I was starving, that’s for sure! I want to have a damn piece of blueberry pie, but that equals an hour of hard exercise for a week.

    I guess my point is to have your thyroid checked. A wonky thyroid can make it hard to lose (as evidenced by my own fun times here). I wish I’d never had surgery, but I had little option as they found a lump. But most thyroid issues can be controlled with medication.

    Just my two cents/pence.

    Like

    1. Health issues don’t help at all, do they? But hey, you’re looking good! 🙂

      I do have my blood checked every so often, for blood sugar levels, and often they’ll do a full count or take lots of samples. I *think* they’ve checked my thyroid. But I’ll see how it goes now we’ve settled down and bear it in mind. Thank you.

      Like

Comments are closed.