My fat year: It’s been a while …

emley-mapmywalkYes, it’s been a while. We’ve been so busy since the spring, with quite a lot going on over the summer. But now, hopefully, we’re settling down again … I feel as though I say this every few months!

Anyway, I have been keeping an eye on my weight and it’s not been good. Back in February, I dropped down into the next stone-zone. But since then it seems I’ve managed to pile on a pound a month on average – that’s 9lb since February – and I’m not happy at all.

We have been cutting our added-sugar intake and the poet has managed to more or less maintain his own 2-stone weight-loss. But I’m just not doing it.

So yesterday we finally managed the first of our weekend walks again – we’ve not had any for AGES. It was supposed to be just a short 1-miler. And I chose a 3-mile circular around Emley that had 2 (TWO!) “short cuts”.

You can see from the map where we went the wrong way. And no, it’s not the roughly square shape to the top right, that was the first third of the walk, returning back along the first short cut. The mistake is in the bottom right-hand corner of that roughly square shape. It’s about a quarter of an inch on the map, but it certainly isn’t 2 miles-worth. But somehow, we still managed to do just over 3 miles, so I’ll be checking these map routes in future.

There will be more on this walk later in the week when the photographs have been processed, but this is just us getting back into our keeping-fit regime.

Today we start to eat planned meals, probably from Slimming World and similar organisations. We’re not joining a slimming club. The poet doesn’t really need to for a start, he’s just supporting me. But there aren’t really any close by that are held at convenient times, and I think some of the online slimming clubs are a bit pricey. But today we start to eat planned meals, hopefully rotating meal plans on a monthly basis. And yesterday we started to walk again.

My first target is the first half-stone or 7lb. My next target will be the next stone-zone again. Then we’ll set new targets from there.

This morning when I got up with the poet to send him off to work, I hadn’t lost a bean. When I got up again an hour-and-a-half later, I’d lost a pound. I’m taking that for my first week!

4 thoughts on “My fat year: It’s been a while …

  1. susie8765

    Yo! On the odd occasions when you post your cooking onto Facebook, they seem to be very high carbohydrate foods. If you replace high-carb foods with low-carb foods, weight will fall off. For example, have cauliflower and onion instead of pasta/tagliatelle – and have a salad with it. Have a bean burger instead of bread and doughy stuff – and have greens with it. Have a big bowl of fruit instead of cake. Reducing the sugar in your cakes isn’t going to help much if you keep eating the cakes. High carbohydrate foods (flour, potatoes, pasta, bread) all turn into glucose in the bloodstream and too much blood sugar causes weight gain (or the absence of weight loss). So cutting down on sugar won’t help much if you’re not reducing your consumption of other high carbohydrate foods – which are probably what’s causing the problem, given that dumping sugar hasn’t helped.

    You are, of course, completely free to ignore me. 🙂 Good luck.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the suggestions, Susie. Always nice to see you here. 🙂

      I’d understand a lot more had we changed our diet completely. But we haven’t changed it from me losing 7lb and Ian losing 2st other than reducing sugar content. Everything else is the same and Ian still hasn’t put his 2st back on, yet I’ve put 9lb on. We’ve not done any walking over the summer, and I think that has a lot to do with it. Saying that, I *have* been grazing a bit more … okay, a lot more – particularly of an evening. I’ve been thinking about it and I think this, coupled with the lack of exercise, is probably where the problem lies.

      We’re cutting out snacking now, and not eating between meals, and we’re walking again. But if the weight continues to pile on me and not Ian, I’m off for a blood test!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I remember you saying before, which is why the blood test is on the list if the weight doesn’t come off this time. So far, though, I’ve lost 2lb this time and Ian’s lost 5lb again.

      Like

Comments are closed.