My fat year: Week 2 with Slimming World

IMG_4263a
Picture: Ian Wordsworth

We don’t have any new pictures to share at the moment, so I’m going to use an old one instead. (I know there are pictures on the camera too, but they haven’t been processed yet …)

After my second week with Slimming World, I’ve lost another ½lb. That brings the total so far to 3½lb.

I’m getting confused, though. For example, I thought that fruit was “free”, but it isn’t if it’s tinned or dried. So when I add a tin of strawberries to a sugar-free jelly, it’s exactly the same as having a piece of Swiss roll. If I have just 2 dates, it’s exactly the same as having a bag of skinny popcorn or a square of Green & Black’s Thin milk chocolate – salted caramel. And even if you stew apples with granulated sweetener you have to count them.

This is rubbish, as I really did think that all fruit, unless candied or steeped in sugar, was free.

Saying that, though, I *am* selecting one or two pieces of real fresh fruit for a snack if I’m feeling peckish and that does do the trick a lot of the time.

We had a nice dinner yesterday. It was supposed to be “fennel infused” chicken but we couldn’t get any fennel bulbs so used chestnut mushrooms instead. The whole dish was very aromatic as there were heaps of fresh herbs used. I often don’t like the sharp, bitter taste some herbs can leave on food. But yesterday’s chicken was very nice and we still have the meat for sandwiches.

I’ve spoken to SW about the home-made bread and they’ve said to treat it exactly the same as ordinary bread. I’ve not yet found a good Syn™ calculator, though. At least Weight Watchers tell you how to work out the points in food, and other websites allow you to input the recipe to their site

At Slimming World you have to send them the recipe to work out for you, and when you’re trying to decide what to cook for a nice, slimming pudding, waiting to send a recipe off and then waiting to get the results back doesn’t really work as dinner will have gone cold by then …

And another thing … the recipes at SW are delicious, but there isn’t a facility to just “add” that meal to your day’s food diary. You have to go in and “add your own” and then save it to your favourites. This is fine, but it would be just so much easier to simply add the syn-value to your diary, as I’m sure other diets allow that.

So the grumbles continue, but at least the weight is going in the right direction.

2 thoughts on “My fat year: Week 2 with Slimming World

Comments are closed.