My fat year: Week 3 with Slimming World

IMG_4643a
Picture: Ian Wordsworth

We still don’t have any new photographs – we really ought to get out more! But here’s another one I’ve already used this year.

My third week with Slimming World has been difficult.

The week started okay, but on Wednesday the poet cooked a SW Mexican chilli. Now, I’m not a huge spicy food lover, but I don’t mind the odd chilli con carne. But when I make it I use haricot or baked beans or, occasionally, kidney beans. This time I accidentally picked up a tin of kidney beans in chilli sauce. The recipe also included lots of chilli, and coriander. It was hot and spicy and I hated the coriander.

As a result, the poet got an extra portion of the chilli, plus he gets two more portions to take to work and heat up in the microwave. But the net result Wednesday evening was that, after only a portion of rice for tea, I was hungry. And so I grazed.

On Thursday, we went shopping, and I was hungry again … and so I grazed again …

On Friday, by teatime, I was starving. I’d had a ham salad earlier and saved my daily “healthy extra” allowance of 2 slices of home-made bread for tea, as we were having steak, chips and mushy peas and I was looking forward to a couple of chip butties … but when the poet came to make the chips, there weren’t any chipping potatoes!

I’d been looking forward to that chip butty all day, and as boiled baby potatoes just aren’t the same as chips, I consoled myself with one of my slices of bread with home-made apple jam on (half a syn for the jam, half a syn for the spread).

And then I grazed some more.

Imagine my surprise, then, when I stepped on the scales on Saturday (to see what damage I’d incurred so far), and I’d LOST another 2lb. How could this happen? The scales were broken, obviously.

The poet checked his weight too and nope, the scales weren’t broken. And the weight was still the same on Sunday morning when I checked – you know, just to make sure the scales were actually broken – but my weight was the same, although I had behaved myself on Saturday. We went out Saturday night and, as I was driving, I had Diet Coke to drink. The poet had lager. It was his band’s “Christmas gig” and it was my turn to drive. And on Sunday morning … he’d gained 2lb, but my weight was still the same.

Yesterday wasn’t great, in the slimming scheme of things. We didn’t have time to make a syn-free pasta salad to take with us, so we each selected from the salad bar at Morrison’s when we got to Birmingham. But I really, really fancied a gingerbread man, and the poet convinced me that if I didn’t have him, then I’d feel cheated. So we bought a gingerbread man, and I worked out the syn value … 14 syns! Oh dear! BUT, if I was going to go bust, then I may as well make the most of it. And I went bust quite spectacularly in the end. Well, by around 7 or 8 syns.

Fearing the worst this morning, I stepped on the scales again … and I’d lost again! This meant I’d lost 3lb in the past week, despite the grazing. I have no idea how that happened, other than the grazing I’ve been doing has been syn-free or low-syn.

And, of course, it means that in only 3 weeks with Slimming World, I’ve lost a very respectable 6½lb. I only have ½lb to hit my first target of half a stone (7lb).

Perhaps I should have “difficult weeks” more often!

4 thoughts on “My fat year: Week 3 with Slimming World

  1. Jo

    well done , however you did it! earlier this year I joined http://www.myfitnesspal.com/ you just input what you eat each meal, you can add ‘your’ meals to the database if you want and if you do any exercise, walking, gardening etc then it takes this off your calorie allowance each day and tells you what you will weigh in 5 weeks time. You just put in a start weight, I found it easy to use, not lost much weight but it helped keeping a track of what I ate each day/week ,Jo

    Like

    1. I did a massive reply to this and then the internet fell over! Anyway, it said thank you, and that I’ve used My Fitness Pal in the past. I like its barcode facility and the fact that it links to MapMyWalk. But I find the database far too big and the app isn’t very stable on my phone.

      Like

Comments are closed.