My fat year: Week 4 with Slimming World

0-5It’s been a much better week with Slimming World. The shopping is catching up with the menu plans and I’m getting used to not eating between meals. I’m also calculating what I can and can’t have in my head now, and just confirming it on the online diary.

We’ve been adapting favourite recipes to suit and adding more to the poet’s repertoire. We have a book called The Classic 1,000 Low Fat Recipes and many of our favourites start there. Another favourite is the Weight Watchers Time To Eat cookbook.

He made a Weight Watchers toad in the hole at the start of the week (it has vegetables in it as well), and when he went on a work’s do on Friday, I had the final portion for my tea. That left me feeling a bit hungry and I did pig-out on not one but TWO Belgian buns.

Yesterday I went bust too, but I’m not fretting over that too much as I know we’re still eating quite well (apart from the Belgian buns …).

We’re having a varied diet too, including fish at least twice a week, and at least one of those being oily fish. Last week we had plaice and salmon. This week we have salmon and cod. We’re also eating a wider variety of vegetables, but that’s not likely to increase any more as I’m a proper finick when it comes to vegetables.

We made SW steak & kidney pies yesterday and we mashed the potato with fat-free natural fromage frais … and we were surprised when we liked it too (the mash, not the pie – we knew we’d love the pie). For pudding I made “apricot cut-and-come-again cake” from the classic low-fat recipe book, and while this came in quite high (6½ syns per ninth and part of why I went bust yesterday), we know it’s still a nice, healthy pudding.

So today I weighed in, and I’m 7½lb lighter than when I started. Not only have I met my first personal target, I’ve also been awarded my first badge. Next personal target: to drop into the next stone zone.

Wish me luck!

One thought on “My fat year: Week 4 with Slimming World

Comments are closed.