My fat year: 2lb on, 2lb off …

blog-standalone

At Whitby (Picture: Ian Wordsworth)

So the 2lb I put back on last week has come off again. What have I been doing? Cutting down on bread. Bread really does seem to be the culprit here.

This means it was a much better week, and there is still just over a week left of my initial three-month membership of Slimming World. Over the next few days I’ll be deciding whether to renew for just a month at a time, or renew for another three months.

I do believe that had Christmas not come right in the middle, then I might have lost considerably more than the 7½lb, and maybe even dropped down into the next stone-zone. Therefore, I personally believe it’s worth sticking with, and probably for another three months if they have any offers.

This past week, then, we’ve been eating more meat-based meals. Last night the poet made us a Slimming World carbonara – and it was gorgeous. And we have a Slimming World syn-free fry-up (or 2 syns if we have low-fat sausages) at least once at the weekend, sometimes twice.

The only puddings we’ve made have been adapted from a Weight Watchers book (lime meringue pie) and another old favourite low-fat cookbook I’ve had for years (cherry crumble).

Sweet treats have included marshmallows (1 syn each) and/or individual squares of Green & Black’s salted caramel “Thin” (3½ syns per square). Believe me, three big fat marshmallows look much more satisfying than one square of chocolate. But they’re big squares and the chocolate is so rich I really do only need one square.

My bronze activity challenge is going well too. Aside from the chickens, we managed a half-decent walk on Saturday (report to follow this Friday) and Sunday was spent doing manual farm labour.

The 2lb is staying off so far this week. I hope it drops a little more by next Monday.

